LPL 2020: Shahid Afridi To Lead Galle Gladiators


Former Pakistani all-rounder Shahid Afridi will lead the Galle Gladiators franchise in the inaugural Lankan Premier League (LPL) coronavirus-hit Twenty20 tournament, which will be played in Hambantota, Sri Lanka from November 26 to December 16. (More cricket news)

Afridi was named captain of the Galle Gladiators squad on Saturday, which was brought in by Pakistani businessman Nadeem Omar, who also owns the popular Quetta Gladiators franchise in the Pakistan Super League.

Initially, Omar had announced Sarfaraz Ahmed as captain of Galle Gladiators but had to change his decision after the wicket batsman was named to the Pakistani squad for the New Zealand tour.

“Afridi will now be the team captain as he is the most senior player in our franchise and has experience as captain,” said Omar.

Held during the COVID-19 era, the inaugural LPL was struggling even before its launch as several leading international players, including Chris Gayle, Faf de Plussis, Liam Plunkett, David Malan, Lasith Malinga, Kamran Akmal , Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Hafeez and Sarfaraz withdrew from the event for various reasons.

Pakistan wicket keeper and batsman Kamran Akmal has also withdrawn from the league with a shoulder injury.

Pakistani players who will be seen in action in the league include Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Aamir, Ehsan Ali, Azam Khan, Usman Shinwari and Shoaib Malik.

Left arm stimulator Tanvir, and Canadian drummer Ravinderpal Singh, had in fact tested positive for COVID-19 shortly after reaching Colombo.

Five franchises – Jaffna Stallions, Kandy Tuskers, Galle Gladiators, Colombo Kings and Dambulla Hawks will fight for the inaugural LPL trophy.

For in-depth, objective and above all balanced journalism, Click here to subscribe to Outlook Magazine


Disclaimer: The content and images used in this article is rewritten by the authors of NewsTube and sourced from for more information read our Privacy Policy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here