Monday, March 8, 2021
Home News & Politics BJP romps home with 68 out of 72 seats in Rajkot

BJP romps home with 68 out of 72 seats in Rajkot

The BHARATIYA Janata Party (BJP) has let off steam at home in Rajkot by almost doubling its number of seats to 68 out of a total of 72 seats in the Rajkot Municipal Corporation (RMC) and retained power in the largest civic body of Saurashtra Tuesday, reducing the congressional tally. with four seats. The Saffron Party also retained power in Jamnagar and Bhavnagar.

Jamnagar was the only civic body where Congress could reach double digits, while the Saffron Party, which has led all three civic bodies for 25 years except Rajkot, has extended its reach among urban voters.

Voting for the CMR, Jamnagar Municipal Corporation (JMC) and Bhavnagar Municipal Corporation (BMC) elections took place on February 21 and the three civic bodies registered 50.75, 53.64 and 49.37 respectively. % participation.

The vote count took place on Tuesday, when the ruling BJP won everything but RMC Ward 15 and violated Congress strongholds in Ward 3 and Ward 16. The party also returned to Ward 11 and 12. , who are dominated by Patidar voters and whom he lost to Congress in the 2015 election.

Mansukh Kalariya, deputy opposition leader and incumbent Ward 10 corporator, also conceded the sole seat of Congress. Gayatriba Vaghela, president of the Congress of Gujarat Mahila, lost his seat in Ward 3 while Ashok Dangar, former mayor of Rajkot and outgoing president of the Congress unit of the city of Rakot lost his seat in Ward 17.

Two former deputy mayors, Bharat Makwana and Mohan Sojitra, also lost their training in Ward 4. The only saving grace for Congress was the leader of the opposition at RMC, Vashram Sagathiya, head of Ward 15 of the Congress. Besides him, Bhanu Sorani and Makbul Dawoodani were the only three congressional corporators who managed to retain their seats. Komal Bharai, the fourth winner from Ward 15, is a new face.

All 13 BJP corporators, including former deputy mayors Darshita Shah and Vinu Dhava, won. The party had refused tickets to 27 of its incumbent corporations.

In the 50-year history of the RMC, the BJP has lost only one election – in 2000.

“We expected to gain 60-65 seats because Rajkot got AIIMS, a new international airport, a new GIDC, a new bus port, the Narmada waters at the Aji dam, a new race course and much more. other things during the reign of the BJP. The people of Rajkot have rested their trust in the BJP for 50 years, ”said Dhansukh Bhanderi, BJP head for the RMC elections.

Congress, hurt by the gnawing Aam Admi (AAP) party, said the results were incredible. “Considering the turnout at our electoral meetings and the response during the election campaign, we were confident to win at least 31 seats … Nonetheless, we respect the mandate of the people,” Dangar said, adding that he had submitted his resignation as chairman of the city unit due to the party’s defeat. .

The AAP contested the 72 seats of the RMC and its candidates finished second behind the BJP in Ward 8, but the party did not open its account on its first attempt in Rajkot.

In Jamnagar, the BJP won 50 seats, 12 more than its total in 2015, while the Congress total fell from 24 to 11 seats even as the Bahujan Samaj (BSP) party won the three remaining seats in the general council of 64 members of the civic body. The BJP won four seats each in Ward No.3, 15 and 16, but also lost three to BSP and one to Congress in Ward 6. Outgoing Deputy Mayor Karshan Karmur, who joined the AAP after the BJP turned him down, got 5,435 votes, the fifth highest score after four BJP winners. However, Congress managed to retain its base in Wards 1 and 12 by winning all eight seats. Jamnagar City Unity President Virendrasinh Jadeja was among those who lost.

In Bhavnagar, the BJP retained power by winning 44 seats out of 52 while Congress was only able to save eight of its 24 seats. The BJP won all seats in 10 of the 13 wards. “Thanks to the pramukhs page strategy of our president CR Paatil, we won despite the low voter turnout,” said Rajiv Pandya, chairman of the Bhavnagar Town Unit of the BJP.


Note: The content and images used in this article is rewritten and sourced from

Most Popular

Pentagon uncertain of U.S. troop withdrawal in Afghanistan as deadline looms

1st Battalion, 501st Infantry Regiment, 4th Brigade Combat Team, 25th Infantry Division watch as the CH-47 Chinook helicopters circle above during a dust...

Group Sues N Carolina Over End To Confederate License Plate

RALEIGH, NC: The North Carolina Chapter of the Sons of Confederate Veterans has filed a lawsuit against the state over its decision to...

Cathie Wood says the underlying bull market is strengthening, will benefit Ark’s strategy over time

Cathy woodCrystal Mercedes | CNBCThis is breaking news. Please come back for updates.Ark Investment Management Founder and CEO Cathie Wood said...

Tigeress Avni’s Offspring Found Post Injuries In Forest Fight: Police

<!-- -->Tigeress Avni was shot dead in 2018 following an official order. (Deposit)Nagpur: An offspring of the Avni tigress, which had been...